Am I awake yet?

Some mornings you simply can’t wake yourself up. I’ve had many of these, especially in the last two weeks. You know how some people are morning people and some just aren’t? I am one of the latter. Let’s clarify. I am a morning person, but certainly not an “early morning” person. There’s a big difference. About every once in a while, like every two months, I enjoy getting up in the middle of the night (…6 a.m), showering, and driving to Starbucks in the dark. But the fun wears off at about 10:30 a.m. of that day and I’m back to wishing I hadn’t done that.

This morning, I spent a good three or four hours simply trying to WAKE UP, all the while lounging in the Xavier University student center eyeing the coffee shop and trying not to act tired (it didn’t work) while hanging out with one of my Bible study girls. Ugh. I’m in one of those funks where I simply just want to sleep for hours and hours and then finally, maybe wake up and do something in life. Not fun. I’m looking for a cure. However, I’ve discovered that wine does wonders for this – I may still be sleepy, but at least I’m a happy sleepy. 

3 Comments to “Am I awake yet?”

  1. Oh yes, I can totally relate! Brian has had the 6am shift the last couple weeks. He gets up at 5. One day last week I thought it would be a good idea to stay up after he left instead of going back to bed and get stuff done. And I got a lot of stuff done! And then was ready for a nap at 9:30. I’m definitely a night person.

  2. Hey Alicia!! Wow, I’ve definitely had that feeling the past few days for sure. Even when I go to bed super early, I can not get up at a decent time! I am a night person for sure.

    BTW its been so long since I checked these blogs!! I am so lame…but as I wrote on Colleen’s blog, I will be updating mine soon…so be prepared!

  3. Yayyyy 🙂 ….p.s. I am coming to VA soon!

Leave a Reply

