New Year: 2011

So, here I am, half asleep, sitting in a plane on my way back to Cincinnati after the holidays enjoying the perks of google chrome’s “free holiday wi-fi” in the comfort of a crowded jet. And I’m thinking about New Year’s Resolutions. I’m quite sure that I blogged about this last year (….in fact, looking at my old blog, I did. But anyway.) I’m not the best at keeping my NYR’s but I am sure good at making them, and that must count for something someday.

Just to check up on myself, I checked my old blog to take a peek at what I probably didn’t accomplish this year. But I wanted to know. Basically, I resolved last year to do some pretty basic things (get up earlier, be more clean, stay in touch with people, read more, and apply to grad school). Well….okay. I don’t think I got up at any earlier, nor was I in a better mood when I did, I don’t think I was that much cleaner….but I read a lot, and I applied to grad school – and then decided not to go.

Hmmm. Well, moving on to 2011.

THE LIST.

Cook.While perusing Williams Sonoma one Sunday afternoon, I happened to catch a glimpse of this book. I love Julia Child. Love her. Between her and Pioneer Woman (and America’s Test Kitchen, and Rachael Ray), I have my cooking life pretty much made out. So, I have decided to purchase Mastering the Art of French Cooking and My Life in France and cook (and dream) away. Oh, and perhaps a new Williams Sonoma apron. I can never get enough of those.

I watched Julie & Julia last night with my Mom and sister. Believe it or not, it was actually purely coincidental that I had just decided the week before to do the whole Julia Child thing, but anyway, I watched it. And then checked out the “Julie Julia Project”  blog online. [Side note: Did you know that Julie Powell was on the Rachael Ray show?]  and decided to do something a little similar and a little different. What would happen, I wonder, if I spent a year studying Mother Teresa? You know, like the Mother Teresa Project. And then blog about it. Jk. Sort of. So, I am going do it. And I’m even going to buy a new, cute  quote journal for it. <– another obsession of mine.

Go to New York City during the holiday season.

Do the 30 Day Shred for thirty days.

Go to Williams Sonoma for a cooking demo one of these Sundays.

Play the piano. Become more Chopin and Brahms-proficient. This won’t be hard because I JUST BOUGHT A NEW DIGITAL PIANO!

Make brunch more often.

Read. Of course. On my current list: My Life in France, The Soul of the Apostolate, Three to Get Married, By Love Refined: Letters to a Young Bride, The Nature of Love, Theology of the Body in Context, Called to Love, The End and the Beginning, Wojtyla’s Women, Northanger Abbey, Mansfield Park, the Anne of Green Gables series, Pioneer Woman’s love story book, Jesus of Nazareth, Essays on Woman, Free, Feminine and Faithful, and Light of the World. And some poetry. Whew. The end.

Call my Mom three times a week.

Find a new coffee shop every month in an area of Cincinnati that I don’t know.

Write more letters.

Be more organized.

Get on facebook less.

Read more blogs. Cooking blogs, online magazines, or anything else that catches my fancy. Find at least six new ones to follow.

Be more regular with morning and night prayer.

Go to Confession more often.

Visit a historic site and/or park in Cincinnati. Several of them. The Taft museum/house/whatever it is? That’s all I know. There must be more.

Go to the Art Museum.

Come back to Kansas City for the American Royal.

Make Pioneer Woman’s Cinnamon Rolls.

Go wine tasting.

Figure skate.

Go to Mass at three parishes that I have never been to before.

Go to D.C. to visit the “Ave girls” (and an ITI husband).

Go to least one conference.

Find at least one new hobby that I enjoy. The guitar? (that might have been on last year’s list) Rock climbing? (bizarre, but why not?) Running? (dream on. But my mom did get me an armband for my itouch for Christmas. That will motivate me to go running at least once).

Kansas City BBQ and Jazz. The end.

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment to “New Year: 2011”

  1. Somehow I missed this post until now, but I LOVE the list. I failed to make New Years resolutions (go me) but I have slowly been working on a list of my own (okay, mostly in my head.) I figured I would give myself the entire month of January to muse over it. And the 30 Day Shred? Yeah, that makes my list, too.

Leave a Reply

