Musings from the Dayton Airport

I love Advent. Let me tell you.

I love going downtown for Mass in the middle of a busy workday for some peace and quiet, watching people walk the streets battling the wind and just enjoying the feeling of being anonymous in a big city.

I love getting to spend some quiet time alone with Jesus. I love Confession. I love serenity in the midst of craziness.

Not that this Advent has really been that crazy; it hasn’t, in fact, and it even has felt like a somewhat slow time of the year, probably due to the several snow days that I’ve gotten already – time for rest and relaxation.

But in spite of that, I never feel ready for Christmas, and I’m not sure why. Pretty much all my shopping is done – hallelujah, but that really has nothing do it with it. It just feels like Advent should be longer. And that I should be more holy, and visit people in a nursing home or something, or sing a few more Christmas carols. Or write (and actually mail) more Christmas cards. And so Christmas week is suddenly here, and I’m still in a daze that it’s December 22nd, despite the snow, cold weather, and ice.

Hmmmm.

But it’s here. Lord, prepare my heart.

I’m sitting in the Dayton airport waiting for my now-delayed flight to start boarding, which is actually pretty great for me. Until last night I was planning on making the 10 hr drive home by myself today, but instead I bought a last-minute plane ticket. I don’t know why. I don’t do things on impulse that involve a lot of money very often. But I did, and then had the scramble of trying to fit all my clothing for a week, and my Christmas presents for my family, and my laptop etc. all in bags that I could carry on without paying the $25 baggage fee. It worked. But it won’t on the way back, but I prepared for that.

I love Advent for the food, as well. Of course.

I love dips – like Spinach and Artichoke, dip, Crab dip etc. And etc. I usually make a list of all the things I want to make for the holidays when I come home, but the list isn’t quite compiled yet. My latest love? Fondue. I went to the Melting Pot recently for the first time and was instantly hooked. Hooked, I tell you. So much hooked that I pleaded with my dear Mother to get a fondue pot this Christmas so that we can enjoy it over the holidays. It hasn’t happened yet, but I still have three days. And a 20% off Bed, Bath and Beyond coupon. I’ll keep you updated.

You know what else I love about Advent (and Christmas for this one)? The music . I love playing the piano, and it breaks my heart sometimes that I never get to play. But, that’s about to change. I have recently (as in last night) looked into buying a digital piano. And I can tell you right now that this piano is going to happen. Soon, in fact.

In the meantime, I hope that you’ve had a lovely Advent and that you are ready for the joy of Christ’s birth.

Oh, and check this out – a billboard here in Cincinnati sponsored by Cincinnati Right to Life. Love it! Merry Christmas.

 

Leave a Reply

