Things That Make Me Smile

This makes every second of my job worth it.

“Dear Alicia,

Thank you for coming to my school for In Control week!! 🙂 Your warm, merry personality made me feel comfortable! You clearly explained everything in a fun way that we really could participate and interact with.I can’t wait to see you next year! Thanks, thanks, thanks!”

W/ all my love,

– Olivia, a 7th Grader

Have I mentioned how much I LOVE my students? They are the greatest gift of my job, and even though the days might be long sometimes, and the mornings might be too early, and sometimes it can be discouraging, they are the light of my life!

You know what else makes me happy? Christmastime . . . I love the holiday lights, the Advent wreath, happy people, the shopping rush, the cold weather, the snow, the excitement and anticipation, the amazing holiday treats, Christmas concerts, hot chocolate with peppermint schnapps, the beautiful homilies, and the coming of Christ in a very special way. It started snowing hardcore this week, which meant that I’ve had two days off school just to sip coffee, do some reading, go shopping, and relax for a little while. It’s been pretty wonderful.I’ve started making my list of holiday baking to-dos, and I’m very excited to head home and begin the holiday cooking mania. I’m slightly less excited about the 9.5 hr drive, and perhaps the snow, but you can’t win them all I suppose. . .

Leave a Reply

