Random Saturday a.m. Musings

Dear Y’all,

Hmmm so I’m sitting here in Starbucks on a beautiful, cold Saturday morning trying to come up with something to say on my own blog about life, or more specifically my own life, in general….

Here goes.

* I love relaxation. LOVE it. I am undeniably lucky today. You know why? I got to sleep in. On a wonderfully holiday-ish- feeling Saturday morning. I am at Starbucks, which, even though it’s horribly chain-ish and cliche, always delivers good espresso. Even better: I happened to have a free drink waiting for me this a.m. And, their holiday drinks have just come out, which means that sitting in front of me is a Venti Caramel Brulee Latte. 5,000 calories and worth every calorie. I will never understand the “non-fat” phenomenon that has taken over Starbucks to some extent – who goes to Starbucks to skimp on calories?

*Moving on. I am also happy because in three days I will be relaxing (hopefully by a fire) at home. In Kansas City. Joyful thoughts. You what else? Obviously, it’s Thanksgiving time and that means in Baehr house it is bake-a-rama time. I am blissfully looking forward to the abundance of pumpkin and pecan pies and rolls that will be made in the next few days.

* Under the Mercy is a fabulous book. Sheldon Vanauken pretty much rocks my life.

*Pioneer Woman beat the socks off of Bobby Flay this week in a Thanksgiving Throwdown. It was incredible.

* I saw a little kid in Starbucks today whose mother got her a cup of whipped cream and chocolate to eat. Just a cup.

*I have recently discovered Starbucks random itunes download of the week. This week it is Aloe Blacc’s “I Need a Dollar.” Just in case you wanted to know. More Starbucks random info: after a whole year of teaching and coffee consuming, I have finally made it the “Gold Level” at Starbucks. Basically, this just means that I have spent copious amounts of money there in the last year and have finally made it to the “free refill” stage. Joy!

*Kids say the darndest things. No, really, they do. Loving my job, as always.

*I sort of ran over my phone a few weeks ago. It broke. I got a new phone. I’m not the biggest fan. It shuts off randomly after I send text messages.

*Barn dance last night. Very, very fun times.The barn was hardly a shack barn like I was expecting. Wow. Nice. I would like a chandelier and a dance floor in my barn, someday.

*Weekends are a beautiful thing.

Love,

Alicia

Leave a Reply

