Just in case you wanted to know.

So, it’s that time of year here in the chastity education department at the pregnancy center. The time of year when we start packing up our ridiculous suitcases with all sorts of chastity education materials, including, but not limited to: play-doh, wigs, Cincinnati Reds baseball hats, fake baby models, paper hearts, duct tape, spit cups, and last (but most certainly not least) –  jolly ranchers. This is also the time of year when I start to peruse the magazine isles in grocery stores on the lookout for clothing ads with cute chicks dressed modestly….and a few “I wanna be hot” chicks who are dressed, ummmm,  shally we say, not-so modestly. All of this has a point, I promise.

Yesterday I happened to be in Wal-Mart checking out the latest issues of Cosmo and Seventeen when a gentleman employee approached me and remarked (no doubt from taking a glance into my shopping cart) that I seemed to enjoy magazines. He meant it as an innocent conversation starter, but I’m pretty sure I turned a couple different shades of red, or at least pink, to be caught flipping through a magazine whose title screams “Bad Girl Sex” on the front of it. Nice.

At this point, I started to just laugh a little and move away towards the checkout isle, but he kept persisting in a non-flirtatious way by handing me magazines that he thought I would enjoy – Glamour, Allure, and Self etc. Finally, after a lot of nodding, smiling and just wishing I could get out of this awkward situation, I couldn’t take it anymore and I casually dropped that I worked with teenagers in schools and so I needed to get the scoop on the latest trends as part of my job. He looked at me curiously and said, “Really? What exactly do you do?” So I gave it to him with a smile on my face – telling him that I worked in chastity and abstinence education, and that fighting the influence that the media can have on teenagers was really important. The man gave me a very interesting look, and replied, “Well, they certainly need what you do,” and began to tell me stories of friends or relatives that had been affected by  bad relationships, abuse, or divorce.

Most of the time, when a random person asks me about my job, I tell them that I work for a “pregnancy center” without getting into what I really do. But sometimes I wonder why I just don’t say it. Somebody needs to know that somewhere there is a battle going on to fight the influence of Cosmo and Seventeen. I have a perfect excuse to bring it up. I should do it more often. Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

