THE Best Blueberry Muffins

I knew that it was only a matter of time before I started blogging about food, and sure enough – it’s the second day in a row.

Today I made my third ever trip into Skyline Chili in Cincinnati, and I was once again reminded of what good food is NOT. Okay, just kidding. To be fair, the only time I’ve ever actually eaten Skyline was the first trip….and that was 14 months ago. Obviously, it was that good. Needless to say, my dreams are not filled with visions of Skyline. But you know what they ARE filled with? These Blueberry Muffins:

These fabulous creations come from America’s Test Kitchen, one of my all-time favorite Saturday morning cooking shows. My Mom and I are somewhat obsessed with ATK. We both have all of their magazines, most of their cookbooks, and even the DVD episodes for each season – which I still watch, even here in Cincy. It saves me from the sadness of not having TV in my apartment.

Anyhow, my roommate and I had a beautiful Saturday morning drinking coffee, talking some theology, and making these amazing blueberry muffins. I don’t think that I’ve ever made blueberry muffins that actually could taste semi bakery-ish, but this is the closest I’ve ever came. What makes these muffins so fabulously different would be the fact that you actually cook blueberries and sugar down in a saucepan….and then swirl that mixture into the already-studded blueberry muffin batter before baking. And then you top them with lemon sugar. It’s kind of like heaven. Happy Saturday.

Leave a Reply

